At the beginning of the summer, the local farm bureau announced that they would be getting fresh peaches from a farm in the southern part of the state. We are talking 25 pound crates of peaches, my friends. I like peaches, but I do not think that I like 25 pounds worth of peaches, so I reached out to my friends and found 3 who were willing to go in on the cost of the crate with me.

They have arrived, and I now have a ton of peaches.

First thing I did was spread them out and split them up amongst the four of us. We each get about 6 pounds worth of peaches. They are all different sizes, so I made sure to try to do an even split of large and small peaches for us all. I have to say; 25 pounds truly is not a lot of peaches. I think next year I will go for a whole case for myself.

I’ve been looking for ways to enjoy these peaches, and while I have a ton of mason jars, I have never canned. I did find some instructions on canning peaches, and one of the podcasts I listen to did an episode on that earlier this year, so I will can some of them. I’m planning on a peach pie, and we will have some grilled peaches with honey as a dessert this weekend.

If anyone has any suggestions before I get started on my peaches, please let me know in the comments. Be sure to check out my Recipe page for the recipes I use!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started